User login

Triple-S Invitational 2012 Day 1: Riders from 9 Countries Compete

The 7th annual edition of the Triple-S Invitational, the world’s most exclusive and prestigious invite-only kiteboarding event, kicked off on the 2nd of June. Riders from 9 different countries came to take part in the 7 days of competition that puts the spotlight on Surf, Slicks, and Sliders. The riders in question are as follows:

  • Men - Andre Phillip, Billy Parker, Brandon Scheid, Brian Smith, Chris Burke, Davey Blair, Eric Rienstra, Evan Netsch, Jake Kelsick, James Boulding, Jason Slezak, Joby Cook, Joe Ruscito, Josh Mulcoy, Mark Miedama, Niccolo Porcella, Rick Jensen, Sam Bell, Sam Light, Sam Medysky, and Tom Court. Add the wildcards Alex Pastor and Bear Karry and the alternates Craig Cunningham, Rich Sabo, and Teddy Lyons
  • Women - Gisela Pulido, Kris Kinn, Lulu Vroman, and Susi Mai. And the wildcard Colleen Carroll and alternates Claire Lutz, Paula Rosales, and Sensi Graves.

All the riders presented above came to take part in the Triple-S invitational, showcase their most progressive surf- and wake-influenced moves, get a piece of the event’s $10,000 prize purse, and win a Triple-S crown. On day 1, which provided super light winds, the riders got to warm up behind PWCs, then they practiced their rail-riding skills on the 80-foot-long John Wayne A-frame and the Best rooftop rail.

Once the sun went down, it was time to party. The Red Bull Kickoff Party at REAL featured an autograph-signing session, an opening ceremony, plenty of good drinks, and killer beats by DJ Chela.

Just like previous editions, the riders and the media will vote and decide who wins the Triple-S invitational. Unlike previous editions, a third layer of judging has been added. There’s now a new mysterious three-person panel that will also get to vote. This panel is made up of some of the sport’s foremost experts.