User login

Southern Cross SUP Festival Wrap-up

The Southern Cross SUP Festival came to an end after four days of action packer races and festivities. The event took place at the Birubi Beach Port Stephens, in New South Wales. The final day of the festival was the stage for the Short Course event, Open Men and Open Women competitions and over 40’s division race.

Beau O’Brian claimed the first place in the Short Course event, after winning the Open Men 14 foot Elite Marathon Race the previous day. Beau also won the d’Albora Dash for Cash. At the end, he said: “I haven’t done too much racing in these conditions, I got back from Hawaii a week and a half ago, I had a good downwind sprint there and backing it up and doing it here is great. I wasn’t going to come because I’ve been a bit crook but the missus said come on lets go and we packed the car Wednesday night an drove up. I’m glad we did because this event has been run really well and it’s great to see so many interstate competitors turn up.”

Molly Walker claimed the Open Women’s Dash for Cash after a dramatic race. She had to battle with Alison Fullagar for the first place and managed to win. Alison was affected by an injury sustained the previous day and was not able to face Molly at full potential. At the end, Molly split the prize with Alison, showing great sportsmanship.

The team event, hosted by d’Albora Marina was a great chance for Team NASH, C4Waterman, LIQUID FORCE, SURFING NSW and other SUP teams to showcase their skills. The team event was won by TEAM NASH, composed of David Kissane, Steve Morrison, Di Morrison and Andy Davis.

At the end of the festival, Luke Madden, Surfing NSW event Manager, said: “To see competitors come from interstate really reflects on the quality the event and we hope to build upon this form the future and welcome feedback from everyone that was involved. Thank you to everyone who made the effort to come down and not only compete but watch and enjoy the festival atmosphere.”

Southern Cross SUP Festival day 4 results:

OPEN MEN – Beau O’Brian (Mudgeeraba)
OPEN WOMEN – Molly Walker (Burleigh)

OPEN MEN – Beau O’Brian (Mudgeeraba)
OPEN WOMEN – Alison Fullagar (Palm Beach)
OVER 40’s OPEN – Robert Westerlink

1st: TEAM NASH Andy Davis, David Kissane, Steve Morrison, Di Morrison
2nd: C4 WATERMAN Terrene Blackm Matt Worley, Simon Dodd, Dylan Henry
3rd: ROAR INDUSTRIES Alison Fullagar, Molly Walker, Neil Anglican, Beau O’Brian
4th: LIQUID FORCE Andrew Cassidy, Paul Chapman, Roger Saunders, Elyse Comeford
5th: KAHUNA Adam Pantlin, Adam Aalistar, Mitch Pearson, Jade Doley
6th: GROM Dave Stretton, Josh Stretton, Elyse Comeford, Matty Keen
7th: SURFING NSW Amanda Couzner, Luke Michalak, Matt Keen, Terry Day