User login

The Winner of the UKWA Windsurfer of the Year Award Is...

Andy “Bubble” Chambers, Sam Sills, and Izzy Hamilton are the ones who won the UKWA (United Kingdom Windsurfing Association) Windsurfer of the Year award back in 2008, 2009, and 2010 respectively. Who do you think won the award this year? The one to win the UKWA Windsurfer of the Year 2011 award is, drum rolls please, Zara Davies, the UK’s queen of speed.

“I was absolutely thrilled to have been nominated in the first place but to win against such a well known line up is fantastic and tops a great year for me. I would like to thank all the people who voted for me,” said Zara Davies, who won three rounds of the European Speed Tour and became the ISWC European Champion for the second time. Zara also won the UK Weymouth speed week (for the 6th time) and the Women’s British GPS 2011 speed ladder.

UKWA President, Bob Ingram, had this to say about Zara winning the UKWA Windsurfer of the Year 2011 award:
“This is the fourth year we have put nominees out to the general public to decide a winner on an online vote and it has proved to be very successful. It is particularly valued by the winners because they are voted on by their peers. Well done to Zara a worthy winner.”

The other nominations for the Windsurfer of the Year 2011 award were Adam Sims (Freestyle) Ben Proffit (wave sailing) Ant Baker (Slalom) and Kieran Martin (Racing). Until the 30th of December the community got to vote and most of them voted for Zara Davies.