User login

Billabong Azores Islands Pro 2012

Billabong Azores Islands Pro 2012

Period: Sep 4 - Sep 9, 2012
Location: Sao Miguel, Portugal

The Billabong Azores Islands Pro is part of the ASP Men’s Star events and a 6 Star competition with a huge prize. It gathers the top riders of the ASP in a battle for $155,000 cash prizes.

Last year, this event was won by C.J. Hobgood from USA. He faced Nate Yeomans, also from USA, in an epic final and managed to take home the title and the prize. At the end he was thrilled and stated: “It was an amazing last five minutes. The first 30 minutes I was in melt down mode and Yeomans was getting all the waves and I couldn't get more than a 3. I kept putting my head down and the conditions are so testing just mentally and physically not knowing which is a good wave or a bad wave. I kept trying and didn't give up and the next thing I knew I was in the lead and the heat was over.”

This year, the Billabong Azores Islands Pro takes place at Sao Miguel, in Portugal, between the 4th and 9th of September. The event will be webcasted live on the Asp website, under the live section. To find out more details about this event, please visit the ASP website.