User login

Billabong Pro Teahupoo 2012

Billabong Pro Teahupoo 2012

Period: Aug 16 - Aug 27, 2012
Location: Taiarapu, Tahiti, French Polynesia

The Billabong Pro Teahupoo is the fifth event on the ASP World Tour agenda and an event which will gather the best riders in the world in a battle for world ranking points, fame and no less than $425,000 cash prizes.

The Billabong Pro Teahupoo takes place at Teahupoo in Taiarapu, Tahiti, French Polynesia, between the 16th and 27th of August. Teahupoo is a renowned surfing destination, but also a dangerous one. The waves deliver a consistent number of barrels and the shoreline is quite shallow. On the 17th of August 2000, at Teahupoo, Laird Hamilton surfed the heaviest wave ever ridden, according to the Riding Giants film.

The winners of the past editions of the Billabong Pro Teahupoo are Kelly Slater from USA in 2011, Andy Irons from USA in 2010, Bobby Martinez from USA in 2009, Bruno Santos from Brazil in 2008, and many other prestigious riders.

To find out more about the Billabong Pro Teahupoo, please visit the ASP website.