User login

Thomas Traversa Claims PWA KIA Cold Hawaii World Cup Title

The KIA Cold Hawaii World Cup was a success this year, as in all previous years. The elite of the PWA staged an incredible show in the windy conditions of Klitmoller. The final was an unreal clash of the titans as it brought together Thomas Traversa and Philip Köster for an epic battle. They both showed an incredible desire to win and performed outstanding.

In the first minutes of the final, Thomas caught an incredible wave and performed an awesome frontside, into backside followed by another frontside. Unfortunately for Philip Köster, his wave closed out on him, leaving the advantage to Thomas. Later on, Thomas achieved his highest scoring wave of the heat with some radical backside smacks ended by a smooth frontside. Philip responded with a wicked backside 360 plus some front and backside hacks, scoring 7.88 and getting back into competition. In the end, Thomas Traversa caught another incredible wave and managed to win the event, as Philip did not find a suitable wave to respond to the challenge.

Thomas Traversa claims the PWA KIA Cold Hawaii World Cup crown and he is the first rider to defeat Köster, after a five event winning streak. However, Philip Köster has secured his second PWA Wave World Champ title at Cold Hawaii, as he managed to defeat Victor Fernandez.

A few words from Thomas Traversa at the end of the event: "I'm super happy, I managed to find one really good wave and then a couple of ok waves. The wind was very, very, very light, but for once I had the advantage of being light. It feels crazy and unreal at the moment."

PWA KIA Cold Hawaii World Cup 2012 overall results:

1st Thomas Traversa (Tabou / Gaastra)
2nd Philip Köster (Starboard / NeilPryde / Maui Ultra Fins)
3rd Victor Fernandez (Fanatic / North)
4th Ricardo Campello (JP / NeilPryde / MFC)
5th Kauli Seadi (JP / NeilPryde)
6th Alex Mussolini (Tabou / Gaastra)
7th Daniel Bruch (Starboard / Severne / AL360)
7th Klaas Voget (Fanatic / Simmer / MFC)
9th Ross Williams (Tabou / Gaastra)
9th Leon Jamaer (Fanatic / Hot Sails Maui)
9th Robby Swift (JP / NeilPryde / Mystic / Maui Ultra Fins)
9th Peter Volwater (Fanatic / Avanti)